ILSTMA Awards to Honor the Achievements of Our Members

We never forget about the people who share our passion for turf. This includes our members, as well as students who are pursuing this field of study. This is why the Illinois Sports Turf Managers Association presents awards and scholarships each year. Following is a list of our awards and winners, as well as applications for ILSTMA awards:


The Illinois Sports Turf Managers Association takes pride in recognizing our members' achievements. Learn more about the awards members are eligible for and about past winners.

ILSTMA Field of the Year

The Purpose

By sponsoring this award program, our association wishes to promote sports fields and facilities of exceptional safety, quality, and beauty. Specifically, we aim:

  • To recognize a sports turf facility that is managed with a high degree of excellence.
  • To show appreciation for individual professional efforts, leading to an exceptional degree of maintenance and quality appearance of the field/facility
  • To inspire and challenge those responsible for maintenance of sports turf to achieve greater levels of excellence

How to Apply - Eligibility - Photo Criteria

Fill in our online application form.   All applications are due by Dec. 31st.

All ILSTMA members in good standing, who are not a Director on the ILSTMA Board, are eligible.

Photo Criteria must be submitted through Dropbox or Gmail.

2019 Winner - Belvidere C.U.S.D. 100 Funderburg Stadium

 Jameson Wilcox - Turf Manager

Past Winners

Sports Turf Manager
Belvidere School DistrictFunderburg Stadium
Jaymeson Wilcox
2018 McLean County Pony Baseball Andy Ommen
2017 Wheeling High School - District 214 Kurt Reynolds
2016 Park District of Oak Park Travis Stephen
2015 Lincolnshire-Prairieview School District #103 Scott Gaunky
2014 Village of Davis Junction Jamey Young
2013 Glenview Park District Community Park West Brent Carpenter
2012 Waukegan Sports Park Noel Brusius
2011 Village Green Field, Northbrook Park District Michael Brouillard
2010 Genoa-Kingston Cogs (CUSD 424) Ernie Nelson
Peoria Chiefs Baseball, O’Brien Field
Noel Brusius
Champaign Park District
Mick Tempel
Morris Community High School
Steve Lutz
North Park, Village of Lincolnshire
Troy Taylor
Woodland Trails Field, River Trails Park District
Chris Paisley
Danny Cunniff Park, Park District of Highland Park
Ted Baker & Ross Lewis
District #211, Hoffman Estates High School
Bob Glascott
New Trier High School
Jules Laude
Ridgewood High School
Dave McCormick
Adlai Stevenson High School
Jeff Green

President's Award


The ILSTMA President's Award is presented to individuals for outstanding contributions to the organization.


All ILSTMA members in good standing are eligible for the President's Award.

Nomination Process

If you would like to nominate someone for the award, contact us at  Include the name of the nominee and the contributions to the continued success of the ILSTMA.

2019 Winner - Noel Brusius - Waukegan Park District

Past Winners

Year Winner
2018 Vincent Cassata
2017 Claudia Michaels
2016 Kara Mehigan
2015 Tom Rychlik
2014 Bill Byron
2013 Tom Edgcomb
2012 Dena DiVincenzo
2011 Scott Gaunky
2009 Don Michaels & George Brandt
2006 Ted Baker
2005 Don Michaels
2003 Scott Pippen
2001 Eric Adkins
1994 Scott Pippen
1991 Mike Trigg

Scholarship Awards


The Illinois Sports Turf Managers Association's objective is the collection and dissemination of scientific, educational, and applied knowledge through association with those persons engaged in and concerned with the construction, maintenance, and use of sports turf areas for superior playing conditions. As part of this mission, we offer a scholarship program. Scholarships are intended to help enable members pay for Illinois or national annual membership dues.


Any ILSTMA member in good standing is eligible to apply for a scholarship.

Types of Scholarships

- A scholarship to help cover the cost of becoming a member of the National STMA.
- A scholarship to cover the cost of the ILSTMA membership dues.

How to Apply

Fill in our online application form.   Applications are due by Nov. 30 of each year.

Past Winners

Year Scholarship Recipient
2019 STMA Conference Vince Cassata
2018 STMA Conference Ian Pickett
2010 STMA Conference Noel Brusius
2007 STMA Conference Mike Schiller
2006 STMA Conference Tony Diaz & Dutch Lundy
2004 STMA Conference Chris Paisley
2004 IPTC Conference John Christensen
2002 STMA Conference Randy Stoneberg
2001 STMA Conference Ross Lewis
2000 STMA Conference Scott Pippen
1999 STMA Conference Dave McCormick & Ted Baker
1993 STMA Conference Scott Pippen

Contact us today to nominate a turf professional or a sports field for one of our awards. We proudly serve professionals from all segments of the sports turf industry throughout the state of Illinois.